Happy New Year!

January 1, 2009 at 5:52 pm (Uncategorized)

Hello All!!!

So, this was going to be a Christmas letter, but it turned out to be a New Year’s letter because some exciting things happened around Christmas that I wasn’t at liberty to talk about yet. But, now I can.

So, what is the same from last year at this time? Well, I am still at Wal-Mart, more about that later. Still renting from my mom (working out, we haven’t killed each other yet!) pursuing my hobbies, and trying to decide what i am going to be when i grow up.

In May, I took a long overdue vacation to Seattle. I went to the Campus Celebration for Trinity Lutheran College, which moved from Issaquah, to Everett. I spent all kinds of time with my Seattle “family,” and was graciously hosted by the Dapelo Family, and my dear friend Aubrey. There are still times i seriously consider moving out there again, and who knows what the future might hold right?

In August my mom’s family was all here in MN, and it was great to spend time with all of them. We had a beautiful summer here, including the week the family was here.

In September, I had to say goodbye to the car that got me through college and beyond. “Rosebud” died because of some valve or something in the motor. With a lack of funds to buy a new car, I am now relegated to driving my Mom’s old mini-van while saving, saving, saving!

Because of the need for more money, and because it has been something i have wanted to do for awhile, I started selling Avon in October. It is a little extra income, and i really enjoy it. It is something i hope to get better at and grow in 2009.

I have now been at Wal-Mart almost 20 months, (WOW! this was supposed to be a 3 month job…) and in the last year, i started thinking about other areas of the store that i could start working in. I have been a customer service manager for 18 months, and I have been ready for a change. In October, I started working in the Pharmacy 2 days a week as a Pharmacy Tech in training, which i have loved. A week before Christmas, I was offered a full time postion in the Vision Center. All the paperwork got done today, and I will be starting on January 17. I do hope to pursue both levels of certification in being an optican. I am so excited to start this new job!

In my spare time i have been crafting up a storm. Scrapbooking, Card making, and most of all, knitting. socks have been my new passion this year, and i love to create new things.

I don’t know what i want to be when i grow up yet, but I do know one thing. I am happy. and almost 2 years ago, i was definately not. Thank you to all of you who didn’t give up on me, harassed me with calls and facebook messages, and showered me with love. I don’t know what i would have done without all of you.

I really don’t know what the next year will hold, but i am excited for new opportunites. I hope you and yours head into 2009 safe, happy, and healthy.

Joy,

Jenna

Leave a Reply

