365 days of solitude

March 6, 2008 at 11:15 am (Life)

One year ago today, I was laying in a hospital, or an ambulance (I was in 3 of each on that day!) with my leg and ankle broken.  i know look back on that day and the events following as the worst and the best things to have ever happened to me.  My life got turned upside down in an instant.  I am all recovered physically, though my ankle will likely never be 100% due to the amount of metal in it.

I have spent this last year throwing a lot of pity parties.  but also growing, laughing, and becoming me again.  I am finally feeling like i am back.  and part of being back is keeping in better toch with people.  But first, an update.

Job wise, I am still at Wal Mart.  I am a customer Service Manger, which basically mean I am one of the hourly supervisors of the front end.  Meaning cashiers, customer service, people gretters, cart pushers, etc.  I have a love-hate relationship with it.  I have recieved a lot of positive feedback, i like most of the people i work with, and the pay is good.  It is nice to feel like I am good at something again.  I hate the random hours, shoplifters, and some of the personalities I deal with.  Eventually, and hopefully soon, I can get a department manager position which could include better hours.  Of course, I open the paper today and see at least one, if not two jobs I am considering applying for.  oh who knows!  I am also in the process of signing up with sittercity.com, so if you would be willing to be one of my references, i would appreciate it!

I am in the process of researching Grad Programs.  I would like to get my Masters in Social Work with a clinical emphasis.  I am looking for a distance and online learning program, so I can still work full time.

I am still renting the upstairs of my mom’s house.  almost a year later, we still like each other, so that is nice.  It has been great to spend a lot of time with my family.  Conversations that have gone until 3:30 in the morning with my brother and sister, hanging out with my cousins, and seeing everyone a lot.

I spend the little spare time I have knitting (my newest projects being socks and mittens,) scrapbooking, making cards, reading (newest recommendations: the other boelyn girl, and eat pray love,) and watching tv

God and I are still at odds.  I don’t feel at home in my home church anymore, and so its been hard for me to make those steps to find another church home.

In May, I am heading to Seattle.  Thank you Tax Returns.  I had the inital date of my trip set, and then found out I had the wrong weekend for the campus celebration.  and my trip dates keep extending, but i will for sure be there for the weekend of the 24th.  so when i confirm that all, I will let those of you who are interested know.  I am flying, and probably renting a car, but I have no idea where I am staying yet.

I still have a blog, though i haven’t posted much.  my computer is annoyingly, painfully slow, so i don’t spend a lot of time on it!

I took this year, kind of closed myself off, and worked on me.  I know it is no fun to be involved in someone else’s pity party, and that is part of the reason i have been so quiet, and hermit-like.  I am looking forward to reconnecting with many of you.  I think of you all often.  thank you to those of you who have stood with me in this last year. I have survived.  and there were times i didn’t think i would.  and if i didn’t have to work tonight i would go out and celebrate.

I hope to hear from you all soon.  Here’s to breaking my solitude!

1 Comment

  1. Sarah, Goon Squad Sarah said,

    Welcome back! Good luck in Seattle.

Leave a Reply

