Writer’s strike

November 14, 2007 at 5:09 pm (Celbs and pop culture, it drives me crazy, things I love) (, , , )

The Writer Guilds strike troubles me.  first of all, just let me say to the producers of these shows: REALLY, THE WRITERS DESERVE SOME KICKBACK FROM THE INTERNET AND DVDS, WHERE YOU CONTINUE TO MAKE MONEY FROM THE THINGS THEY HAVE WRITTEN. there, got that off my chest. 

Now I love TV.  seriously, every night but Saturday has a regular DVR schedule.  then, I watch it when i get a chance,  since i typically work when these shows are on. Just quick breakdown for ya:

Sunday: Amazing Race 12, Desperate Housewives, Brother’s and Sisters

Monday: The Bachelor, (which will soon be done, and then it will be October Road,) Little People Big World, Jon and Kate Plus 8

Tuesday: House, Law and Order SVU

Wednesday: America’s Next Top Model, Private Practice, Dirty Sexy Money

Thursday: Ugly Betty, Grey’s Anatomy, Big Shots

Friday: Women’s Murder Club

Every day: Regis and Kelly, The View, Ellen.

So yes, I realize that this is approximately 30 hours of television a week.  But many times, I don’t watch all of the ones I tape everyday, and with the gift of DVR, i get to fast forward through all of the commercials.  But yes, it is an obession, and sad, i realize.  But hey, i have no friends or a boyfriend, so give me a break.

Most of these shows only had one or two episodes in the can before the strike.  and others are doing without writers, like Ellen.  I watch Ellen everyday, because she makes me laugh.  and though funny, not as funny without her writers.

And now the rumor is they might not even bring back Lost this year unless this gets resolved.  PLEASE, for the sake of television fans everywhere, figure this out.

Do you want me to be your mediator?  because as you can see, I am pretty invested.  There has to be a solution to problems like this. 

Honestly, you could look at it this way.  If this doesn’t get resolved, we will move on.  and then you will not be making any money, and you will have to build up a viewership again.

Granted, i live in Minnesota in the winter, so there is really nothing else to do.  but maybe i will find something.  at the very least, some of these shows that are newer on my radar might be dropped.

So, to sum it up.  I think the writers have a valid point.  Let’s meet and figure this out for the sake of the viewers, the parties of all involved, and their families.

and seriously, call me if you need a mediator!

1 Comment

  1. Carol Ann Kelly said,

    I totally agree…and am really stressing about them possibly not brining back Lost. It has not been fun at all to try and determine how many more shows will be shown before they go into rerun or other shows mode until this writer’s strike is over. Great point that they need to come back before they lose viewership! 🙂
    And….I totally am addicted to the DVR schedule throughout the week, watch on Sat. thing, too, no apologies necessary. My husband makes fun of me but if he added up the amount of ESPN and other sports watching – I bet he’d watch way more television than I do!

    Lamenting the strike with you from Colorado!

Leave a Reply

